Matronics Email Lists Forum Index Matronics Email Lists
Web Forum Interface to the Matronics Email Lists

Get Email Distribution Too!Get Email Distribution Too!    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

engine out

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> Kitfox-List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
chenoweth(at)gwi.net

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:08 pm    Post subject: engine out Reply with quote

Here's a description of some engine-out practice, the first ever, I had yesterday. I found it quite enlightening. Others may find interesting - perhaps useful.

The background goes something like this. I'm a relatively low-time pilot (350 hrs) with about 200 in my Kitfox (IV-1200 582 w/IVO medium) and the rest in 172s. Recently I've been chasing a vibration that was almost certainly prop, gearbox, or engine. But, in the interest of thoroughness I decided to fly to 3000', shut down, and do some gliding to see if, perhaps, the airframe was producing the problem (it wasn't). I invited my tech counselor along because he's the coolest person I know under even the most trying circumstances and I can be excitable.

As an aside, since this is a two-stroke engine I've been very concerned with the possibility of an engine-induced forced landing so all (I mean All) of my downwind, base, and finals have been with engine at idle (I have the idle set at about 2050 - 2100 on the ground). I've figured I might as well be ready in case I really have an engine out. Wasted effort - see below.

To get to the end of the story, we did four separate climbs to about 3000, shut-downs, and descents to a landing. My plan now is to enlist this willing victim in data collection as I go to 3500 and do engine-out glides at speeds from 45 mph to 65 mph to re-calculate the best glide speeds.