Matronics Email Lists Forum Index Matronics Email Lists
Web Forum Interface to the Matronics Email Lists

Get Email Distribution Too!Get Email Distribution Too!    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

L-29 Musings

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> L29-List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
transmatch(at)aol.com

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 3:17 am    Post subject: L-29 Musings Reply with quote

Wow! This board really lit up. Thanks to Frank for stirring up some real emotion. I’ve had my L-29 for a little less than 2 years. Owning it has been one of the most fun things that I have ever done.  I have been a pilot all of my life and had some very memorable experiences in my career. Some of the things that I have done have exceeded my wildest expectations. When I was 35 years old I was awarded my first “Around the World” trip. I had been a captain for 8 months and the company that I work for gave me a suit case with $141000.00 in it. I was to start in <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Paris and fly east with 226 passengers until we got back to Paris. The route was Paris, Muscat (Oman), Katmandu (Nepal), Chiang Mai (Thailand), Singapore, Bali (Indonesia), Sydney (Australia), Auckland (New Zealand), Tahiti, Easter Island, Mexico City, Orlando, Paris. The trip of a lifetime! I got to do it again 6 years later. Why do I bring this up? Am I bragging? No! I was just lucky. The reason that I relate this is that these trips were the highlights of my flying experience. That is until last fall when my wife convinced me to fly our L-29 from our home in St. Louis, Missouri to Wenatchee, Washington. Yes, the fuel was expensive! I told my wife (Jody) to just shred the fuel receipts. But I would do it all over again. She and I had so