Matronics Email Lists Forum Index Matronics Email Lists
Web Forum Interface to the Matronics Email Lists

Get Email Distribution Too!Get Email Distribution Too!    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Protecting the fat wires
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> AeroElectric-List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Randy C-GRPY

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:36 am    Post subject: Protecting the fat wires Reply with quote

Hello all! This is my first time posting on this list so I'd like to introduce myself and say hello. I also have a question that I posted on Facebook. It was suggested that I post the query here.

How do you determine which fat wires need circuit protection of some sort? All of the branch circuits off of a bus get a fuse or a breaker, but what about the wires feeding the busses from the contactors? Mr. Nuckolls’ diagrams sometimes have protection for the larger wires but most often not. I read Aeroelectric Connection in the past and I think that he addressed this but I can’t find it. Ausman’s book also only talks specifically about protecting branch circuits. Can anybody school me on this?

Somebody pointed out, and I do remember reading, that the fat wires will ground to airframe and burn a hole rather than burning the wire itself. It seems to me that the airframe is the fuse. Why not just use an ANL?

Thanks
Randy

- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List
Randy C-GRPY

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2020 11:02 am    Post subject: Re: Protecting the fat wires Reply with quote